Chumbawamba - English Rebel Songs 1381-1984

Chumbawamba - English Rebel Songs 1381-1984

Regular price $14.99

English Rebel Songs 1381-1984 is Chumbawamba’s homage to the men and women who never had obituaries in the broadsheets; those who never received titles or appeared as an entry in “Who’s Who.” This is an album that conjures up the tragedies and triumphs of the people who shaped England: its citizens. This album was originally recorded in 1988 when Chumbawamba was determined to stir up a rout in the tiny anarcho-punk community by swapping guitars and drums for a capella singing. The songs were discovered in songbooks, in folk clubs and on cassette tapes, chopped and changed and bludgeoned into shape with utmost respect for the original tunes. Fierce, sweet and powerful, English Rebel Songs 1381-1984 contains ballads not included on the original album. It’s guaranteed to sway the listener, break hearts and encourage hope… just as those who inspired the songs by changing history.

"Chumbawamba sing English Rebel Songs sensitively and with harmonious beauty." – Mike Harding, BBC


 Track Listing:

  1. The Cutty Wren
  2. The Diggers Song
  3. The Colliers March
  4. The Triumph of Teneral Ludd
  5. Chartist Anthem
  6. The Bad Squire
  7. Song on the Times
  8. Smashing of the Van
  9. The World Upside Down
  10. Poverty Knock
  11. Idris Strike Song
  12. Hanging on the Old Barbed Wire
  13. Coal Not Dole

Catalog Number: ROOT-CD-0004

UPC: 877746000423

Net Orders Checkout

Item Price Qty Total
Subtotal $0.00

Shipping Address

Shipping Methods