Chumbawamba - The Boy Bands Have Won

Chumbawamba - The Boy Bands Have Won

Regular price $14.99

Chumbawamba is back, armed with acoustic guitars, accordion and trumpet, five-part harmonies, a bucketful of attitude and a new 25-track album called The Boy Bands Have Won. It actually has a much longer title than that (see cover for full title), but let’s call it by its abridgment. The new album is a collection of such ideas; some are just passing thoughts, others are fully-formed songs. It’s gentle and warm in tone, but caustic in intent. It plays with culture, with the idea of recycling our own culture. We all have this vast history of “stuff,” musical and historical and in art and sport and politics and a million other things. And it’s all there for the taking. Featuring guests the OysterBand, Roy Bailey, Robb Johnson, Barry Coope and Jim Boyes… and a hundred others, give or take a few.


“We should be grateful for the Chumbas. Moving on from that anarchic post-punk phase and the bestselling single “Tubthumping,” they have eased across to the folk scene and reinvented themselves yet again – this time as a classy, low-key harmony band writing inventive, intelligent songs.” — Robin Denselow, The Guardian (UK)


Track Listing:

  1. When An Old Man Dies
  2. Add Me
  3. Words Can Save Us
  4. Hull or Hell
  5. El Fusilado
  6. Unpindownable
  7. I Wish That They'd Sack Me
  8. Word Bomber
  9. All Fur Coat & No Knickers
  10. Fine Line
  11. Lord Bateman's Motorbike
  12. A Fine Career
  13. To a Little Radio
  14. Right Around the World
  15. Sing About Love
  16. Bury Me Deep
  17. You Watched Me Dance
  18. Compliments of Your Waitress
  19. R.I.P. RP
  20. Charlie
  21. Ogre (After WH Auden)
  22. Refugee
  23. Same Old Same Old
  24. Waiting For the Bus
  25. What We Want


Catalog Number: ROOT-CD-0006

UPC: 877746000621

Net Orders Checkout

Item Price Qty Total
Subtotal $0.00

Shipping Address

Shipping Methods