Pokey LaFarge - Middle of Everywhere

Pokey LaFarge - Middle of Everywhere

Regular price $14.99 now $14.99

Channeling American roots, country blues, and jazz traditions of the early 20th century, Pokey LaFarge and the South City Three’s newest recording is surely a most inspired 21st -century creation. Middle of Everywhere represents the latest addition to a growing eminence in contemporary American roots music, and LaFarge is definitely paving the way. He and his crew don’t just pay homage to their artistic forbears here – they commandeer their legacies and create something new— and with Midwestern country blues mashed with Western swing, sweet harmony vocals, and hints of New Orleans style horns and lap steel throughout, the title Middle of Everywhere is particularly fitting. LaFarge’s honest, approachable songwriting chops shine through on such tracks as “Head to Toe,” and “Ain’t the Same,” with The South City Three all the while providing an impeccable up-tempo driving rhythm. LaFarge has always had the grace, charm, and flair of the musicians of long ago, but Middle of Everywhere shows just how much of a musical force he is, and how much command he possesses as he steps out with accordant confidence.

“[Pokey LaFarge] studies the past and makes it his own… his voice is strong and warm… The sentiment in [“Feels So Good”] pretty well sums up what I love about this band.”
-Bob Boilen, NPR

 Track Listing:

  1. So Long Honeybee, Goodbye
  2. Ain’t The Same
  3. Head to Toe
  4. Sunny Side of the Street
  5. Shenandoah River
  6. Mississippi Girl
  7. Feels So Good
  8. River Rock Bottom
  9. Weedwacker Rag
  10. Drinkin’ Whiskey Tonight 
  11. Good Country Girls
  12. Coffee Pot Blues
  13. Keep Your Hands Off My Gal

Catalog Number: DIRT-CD-0065

UPC: 877746006524

Net Orders Checkout

Item Price Qty Total
Subtotal $0.00

Shipping Address

Shipping Methods