Rachel Baiman - Shame

Rachel Baiman - Shame

Regular price $14.99

"A real quality debut" - fRoots Magazine

Shame, the debut full-length album from Rachel Baiman, is a work of striking importance from a fresh voice that is bound to reach many ears in the years to come. On the album's ten tracks, Baiman commands attention with songwriting prowess and a depth of presence well beyond her 27 years. The album is a thought-provoking exploration on life as a female in America, with a strong lyrical focus on social justice issues. Despite the serious subject matter, the sound of the album remains light and centers around groove-based, largely acoustic instrumentation. Produced by Andrew Marlin of Mandolin Orange, the lush and varied musical texture heard on Shame is a departure from Baiman's previous stripped-down duo work with 10 String Symphony. Baiman's vocals are arresting throughout; simultaneously rich and subdued, her husky tone and unaffected delivery pair beautifully with the record's stew of folk, alt country, and gospel sounds.

Track Listing:

1. Shame
2. I Could've Been Your Lover Too
3. Thinkin' On You
4. Getting Read to Start (Getting Ready)
5. Wicked Spell
6. Something to Lose
7. Never Tire of the Road
8. Take a Stand
9. In the Space of a Day
10. Let Them Go to Heaven

Catalog Number: DIRT-CD-0083, DIRT-LP-0083

UPC: CD (877726008326), LP (877726008319)

Net Orders Checkout

Item Price Qty Total
Subtotal $0.00

Shipping Address

Shipping Methods