Pokey LaFarge - Riverboat Soul

Pokey LaFarge - Riverboat Soul

Regular price $14.99 now $12.99

From St. Louis, Missouri comes a wonderfully fresh and quirky kind of pop music that combines a riverboat ragtime sound with Delta-meets-Appalachia songwriting, all laid down in front of a big, big swingin’ beat. LaFarge is a neo-hobo, constantly traveling and continually inspired by early American roots music from throughout the land. But while Pokey LaFarge and his crew may summon the likes of Blind Blake, Dan Hicks, or Leon Redbone, and their music may be a fitting soundtrack to R. Crumb’s comics, don’t call it old-timey. Pokey and the South City Three are here to grace this electric world with their unique sound, throwback and rough around the edges featuring parlor guitar, guitjo (a guitar-tuned six-string banjo) kazoo and harmonica, but all with a modern twist. “Riverboat Soul” is what they call it, which just so happens to be the name of their latest recording, brought to you with great pride by Free Dirt Records. Produced with the help of Phil Harris in Nashville, Tennessee, the recording features old pals Ketch Secor (Old Crow Medicine Show), Tommy Oliviero (Bawn in the Mash) and more.

 Track Listing:

  1. La La Blues
  2. Claude Jones
  3. Won't Make Love at All
  4. Hard Times Come and Go
  5. Two-Faced Tom
  6. You Don't Want Me
  7. Sweet Potato Blues
  8. Bag of Bones
  9. In the Graveyard Now
  10. Migraines and Heartpains
  11. Old Black Dog
  12. Daffodil Blues

Catalog Number: DIRT-CD-0060

UPC: 877746006029

Net Orders Checkout

Item Price Qty Total
Subtotal $0.00

Shipping Address

Shipping Methods